Dapa is located south of Siargao island. It is 36 nautical miles east of Surigao, the capital of Surigao del Norte. This town is the center for business since most of the ferries dock here daily. In this town you can find the Mariculture Zone/ Park has an area of 1000 hectares covering the coastal barangays of Dapa Siargao, surigao del Norte.

Dapa is a 5th classed municipality in the province of Siargao, Surigao del Norte, Philippines. According to the 2000 census, it has a population of 19,508 people in 3,846 households. Most of municipality are situated within the island of Siargao.


Dapa is politically subdivided into 29 barangays.

Bagakay, Barangay 1 (Pob.), Barangay 10 (Pob.), Barangay 11 (Pob.), Barangay 12 (Pob.), Barangay 13 (Pob.), Barangay 2 (Pob.), Barangay 3 (Pob.), Barangay 4 (Pob.), Barangay 5 (Pob.), Barangay 6 (Pob.), Barangay 7 (Pob.), Barangay 8 (Pob.), Barangay 9 (Pob.), Buenavista, Cabawa, Cambas-ac, Consolacion, Corregidor, Dagohoy, Don Paulino, Jubang, Montserrat, Osmena, San Carlos, San Miguel, Santa Fe, Santa Felomina, Union

Barangays 1 through 13 constitute Dapa township. For more information, see Dapa township, Surigao del Norte. Barangay Don Paulino is synonomous with the village of Giwan. Barangay Union is synonomous with the village of Union.